Saluting DSPY 2016 winners

Logo for the DSPY Awards 2016

On Saturday 12th November 2016, the 4th Deaf Sports Personality of the Year Awards were held at the Emirates Stadium, London, home of Arsenal Football Club. It was a celebration of outstanding sporting achievements from deaf and hard of hearing athletes during the past year.

The Guest of Honour for the evening was Beth Tweddle, MBE. She is a retired British artistic gymnast who was a 2012 Olympic bronze medalist, three times World champion, six time European champion and seven time British champion.

A DSPY Judge said on the night: “Judging the merits of the 187 nominations was not easy as the standard of applications was extremely high. All the shortlisted nominees in each of the categories should be proud of their achievements and recognition”

Full list of winners:
Deaf Sports Personality of the year – Andrew Rees
Lifetime Achievement Sponsored by BDA – Martin Bogard
Coach of the year Sponsored by Cambridgeshire Deaf Association – Fiona Southwell
Team of the year Sponsored by Remark – England Deaf Golf Team
Sports Club of the year Sponsored by UK Deaf Sports – Fulham DFC
Overseas award Sponsored by MykaSoft Limited – Tereza Kmochova
Unsung Hero Sponsored by Royal Association for Deaf People – James Townsend
Young Deaf Sports Personality of the Year Sponsored by NDCS – Esah Hayat